Scotland to Spain: the spread of Sevens

By tournament:

1955 Madrid University Sevens
1987 Benidorm / Costa Blanca Sevens

The list may be subject to change if more rugby union sevens tournaments are discovered.

Madrid University Sevens

From The Official History of the Melrose Sevens by Walter Allan:

The first sevens tournament was held at Madrid University at 1955.

Benidorm Sevens

The first Benidorm Sevens tournament was staged in 1987. It was won by the Scottish side Gala Y.M.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s