Scottish National Women’s Championship Sevens

Page not complete?
Can you provide any information?

Run by: Scottish Women’s Rugby Union.


Winners play for:

Notes: In 2009, the Scottish Women’s Rugby Union merged with the Scottish Rugby Union.

Past winners

  • 1998 Edinburgh Academicals
  • 1997
  • 1996 Edinburgh Academicals
  • 1995 Edinburgh Wanderers


24 May 1998

Aberdonian Julie Taylor was in the Edinburgh Accies side which completed a hat-trick of victories in the Scottish Women’s Rugby Union national sevens at Aberdeen’s Balgownie playing fields yesterday. The international prop was one of five Accies players in the Scotland team which lost the World Cup plate final to Australia in Amsterdam earlier this month. With fellow Scotland players Janyne Afseth, Mags McHardy, Sarah Higgins and Claire Herriot in the side, Accies proved too strong for Aberdeen University in the semi-finals and overwhelmed Lismore 57-0 in the final. It was consolation for losing their 15-a–side crown. The Division I National League title was wrestled from them by Murrayfield Wanderers. Aileen Galvin, who was in the Accies starting line-up for the final, said: “We were quite surprised it was so one-sided, because Lismore have beaten us in sevens before. They are usually a very strong sevens side, but they didn’t seem to have it today. There wasn’t huge turnout, probably because the competition was delayed due to the World Cup, which ran for almost three weeks, finishing last weekend. A lot of clubs have already finished up for the season.” Aberdeen Select, a fun team made up of Aberdeen University and Aberdeenshire players made a splash in the plate competition by reaching the final.


Edinburgh Academicals 57 Lismore 0

28 April 1996

Aberdeen hosts the Scottish national women’s seven-a-side championship for the first time at Aberdeenshire Rugby Club’s Woodside complex on Sunday. Edinburgh Wanderers are favourites to retain the title they won last year. Spectators will be welcome, with barbecue and refreshment facilities available.


Noon Edinburgh University v Edinburgh Wanderers. Edinburgh Acas v Perthshire Glasgow University v Mull, Stirling v Dundee HSFPs 12.40 Edinburgh Wanderers v Aberdeen University, Aberdeenshire Quines v Edinburgh Acas. 1.00 Royal Dick Vets v Glasgow University. Dundee HSFPs v Lismore. 1.20 University v Edinburgh University, Perthshire v Aberdeenshire Quines 1 40 Mull v Royal Dick Vets. Lismore Stirling 2.00 Ties involving the qualifiers from four pools 4.00 Final

The Aberdeenshire Quines were beaten 17 – 7 by Edinburgh Accies in the final of the Scottish Women’s Sevens tournament. which took place at Woodside


Aberdeenshire Quines 7 Edinburgh Academicals 17