New Towns Sevens

Page not complete?
Can you provide any information?

Run by:

Where: Irvine, East Kilbride, Glenrothes, Livingston, Cumbernauld

Winners play for: Scottish New Towns Cup

Notes: This Sevens competition rotated around Scotland’s New Towns.

Past winners


  • 1982 East Kilbride
  • 1981 Livingston (at Cumbernauld)
  • 1980 Livingston
  • 1979 Irvine
  • 1978 Glenrothes
  • 1977 Livingston (at East Kilbride)
  • 1976 Glenrothes (at Cumbernauld)
  • 1975 East Kilbride (at Livingston)
  • 1974 Glenrothes ‘A’ (at Irvine)
  • 1973
  • 1972 Glenrothes ‘A’ (at East Kilbride)


22 April 1972

First round:

East Kilbride ‘A’ 16 Irvine ‘B’ 8

Cumbernauld ‘B’ 16 Livingston ‘B’ 0

East Kilbride ‘A’, Glenrothes ‘A’, Livingston ‘A’, Glenrothes ‘B’, Cumbernauld ‘A’, ‘East Kilbride ‘B’ all received byes to the next round.

Second round:

East Kilbride ‘A’ 4 Cumbernauld ‘B’ 0

Glenrothes ‘A’ 20 Livingston ‘A’ 0

Glenrothes ‘B’ 13 Irvine ‘A’ 0

Cumbernauld ‘A’ 16 East Kilbride ‘B’ 0


Glenrothes ‘A’ 22 East Kilbride ‘A’ 0

Glenrothes ‘B’ 10 Cumbernauld ‘A’ 8


Glenrothes ‘A’ 18 Glenrothes ‘B’ 10


22 April 1972


Glenrothes ‘A’:

R.W. Hutchison, J. Adams, H.W. Brown, N.B. Leitch, A.N. Leighton, P.L. Whelan, R. Finlay

Glenrothes ‘B’:

J. Cameron, R. Anderson, R. McDonald, I. Linklater, B. Wilson, A.A. Chambers, R. McIntree


East Kilbride team:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s