Kelso Harriers Sevens

Page not complete?
Can you provide any information?

Run by: Kelso Harriers

Where: Kelso

Winners play for:

Notes: This was a rugby union Sevens tournament alongside the Athletics at Kelso Harriers’ Sports Day. (The Kelso Harriers being an athletics club.) The 1897 Sports Day was the Kelso Harriers first Sports Day; a rugby union tournament was not entered in subsequent Sports Days.

Past winners

  • 1897 Jed-Forest ‘A’


18 September 1897

6 teams: Hawick, Melrose, Selkirk, Gala, Jed-Forest, Kelso – were pencilled in for the Sevens but there were no Hawick or Selkirk teams represented on the day. Scratch teams of Gala Abbotsford players and Jed-Forest ‘B’ players took their place.

First round:

Gala Abbotsford 5 Kelso 0

Melrose 8 Jed-Forest ‘B’ 3

Jed-Forest ‘A’ 3 Gala 0


Melrose 3 Gala Abbotsford 0

Jed-Forest ‘A’ received a bye.


Jed-Forest ‘A’ 3 Melrose 0


18 September 1897


Whitton, Hepburn, Tait, Scott, Kemp, Brown and Dobson

Jed-Forest ‘A’:

J.H. Wight, W.S. Oliver, J. T. Mabon, A. Brownlee, J. F. Jeffrey, R. Douglas and R. Hunter


Gray, Barnes, Tait, Bell, Turnbull, Mather and Wilson


Not in subsequent Sports Days:



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s