Bonchester Sevens

Run by: Rulewater Recreation Club

Where: The Haugh, Hobkirk

Winners play for:

Notes: Also known as the Rulewater Sevens. In 1931 a rugby XV match was held between Newmill and Bonchester. In 1933, the Kirkintilloch Herald of 17 May reports a local rugby club issued a player notice that the club ‘has received an invitation to the Bonchester Sports on May 20, and players are requested to practice regularly. The attractions of the opposite sex will not be taken as excuse for non-appearance. The attendance of late has been most unsatisfactory and the committee is convinced that the above is at the root of the trouble. Ladies, please take note and take your annual vacation between now and May 20.’ There was no Kirkintilloch side represented at 1933 Bonchester Sevens; leading to the assumption that the attractions of the ladies of Kirkintilloch put paid to the players’ appearance.

Past winners

  • 1947
  • 1939 Allars Mill
  • 1938 Allars Mill
  • 1937
  • 1936 Lilliesleaf
  • 1935
  • 1934 Jed Thistle
  • 1933 Allars Mill
  • 1932 Bonchester ‘A’


21 May 1932

20 May 1933

19 May 1934

16 May 1936

21 May 1938

20 May 1939

24 May 1947

Page not complete?
Can you provide any information?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s