Morningside Sevens

Page not complete?
Can you provide any information?

Run by: Morningside RFC

Where: Edinburgh

Winners play for:

Notes: A place-kicking tournament also took place.

Past winners

  • 1903 Watsonians
  • 1902 Morningside ‘A’
  • 1901 Morningside


25 April 1903

From the Berwickshire News and General Advertiser of 28 April 1903:

At Morningside Rugby Football Club
Seven-a-side matches for 1903, A.C. Lochhead, Earlston, Captained the winning team—the Watsonians and H. H. Craw, West Foulden, was one of the victorious side. R. W. G. Rutherford, late of Edrom House, played for Trinity, who were the Lochhead especially did splendid work. Bravo, Berwickshire.

5 April 1902

First round:

Dalkeith could not raise a team; Brunstane withdrew due to the death of a club member and personal friend of their team. ‘B’ teams of Morningside and Heriots replaced them in the draw.

Morningside ‘A’ 17 Morningside ‘B’ 3

Trinity Academicals 0 v Heriots 3

Newington 0 Melville College F.P. 6

Heriots ‘B’ 0 v Cluny 8


Morningside ‘A’ 14 Heriots ‘A’ 0

Cluny Melville College F.P.


Morningside ‘A’ 11 Cluny 0

6 April 1901

First round:

Dalkeith 3 Cluny 0

Morningside 20 Trinity Academicals 0

Heriots 11 Newington 0

Brunstane 8 Melville College F.P. 0


Morningside 7 Dalkeith 5

Brunstane 8 Heriots 0


Morningside 11 Brunstane 0

Place-kicking contest:

A. D. Hamilton

Sprint contest:

W. Smith and A. Thomson

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s