Scotland to South Africa: the spread of Sevens

By tournament:

1973 Ford Sevens

The list may be subject to change if more rugby union sevens tournaments are discovered.

Ford Sevens

From The Official History of the Melrose Sevens by Walter Allan:

The first domestic tournament did not take place until the Ford Sevens were held in Pretoria in 1973.

Winfield Sevens

The Winfield Sevens is a national tournament for South African provincial teams.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s